The Silent Wings Museum was originally established in Terrell, Texas as a project of the National World War II Glider Pilots Association, Inc. Ownership of the collection was transferred to the City of Lubbock in September 2000 and was relocated to the Lubbock International Airport grounds in February 2001. The Museum is housed in a building that served as the Lubbock airport terminal from 1949 until 1976. The building was renovated for purposes of the Museum, which opened to the public on October 20, 2002.
The Silent Wings Museum is truly a unique experience. The facility features a dual-disk DVD presentation that provides extraordinary footage of many gliders in action. During World War II, America manufactured and used the WACO CG-4A glider. The Silent Wings Museum is proud to display one of the few fully restored, authentic CG-4A in the world. Not to be overlooked is the architectural design of the old Lubbock Airport Terminal. One of the many highlights is the glass hangar that overlooks the view of Lubbock International Airport.