The Silent Wings Museum is truly a unique experience. The Museum is housed in a building that served as the Lubbock airport terminal from 1949 until 1976. The building was renovated for purposes of the Museum, which opened to the public on October 20, 2002.
The Museum houses one of only a few fully restored CG-4A’s, with interesting origins. There is also a partially restored CG-4A used in an action exhibit as well as other aircraft in various states of restoration. Primarily the Museum displays the WWII Glider Program history.
The Museum opened in 2002 with a very small staff of just a Museum Director and Curator. It was a wild ride to say the least!